Best Date Ever #2: Aquatic Paradise

12 Apr

This is weird for multiple reasons. *pops the top*

Prom night was my first formal date, not the let’s go to the movies, watch a movie, hang out at the mall teenage stuff. Although I had been to several dances with high school boyfriends, this was thee dance. The ultimate dance where you look your best. I told Seth Brundle what I wanted my prom dress to look like after much magazine page flipping. Seth sketched it onto a piece of paper on the hunter green lunch tables in senior square. He was sketching everyone’s prom dress (LoL). The picture exhibited every pleat, drop, and the exact puddle of fabric I wanted. I handed the seamstress my sketch like it was the golden ticket. I told her the color and fabrics I wanted. As you can imagine, I was very specific. My prom dress is timeless.

I didn’t tell my boyfriend at the time what my dress would look like. I wanted him to be surprised. I gave him a swatch of the fabrics, so his vest and tie would coordinate, but that.was.it.

Prom day, I got my hair and nails done. Everything was moving in slow motion. I was nervous hoping he’d like every detail. I mean I had spent much time on this. Lastly, I picked up my dress and got my makeup done.

I was feeling grown and like a lady (whatever that means at that age). The feeling of getting dressed to accompany the person you’re with to an event is filled with excitement and anticipation. It’s like going on a first date, again. My sister-in-law helped me get dressed while everyone waited downstairs. Although there were many there, I only cared about his arrival. While getting dressed, my mom yelled up the stairs, “____________ is here!” My mind began racing whew…take breaths. Omg, he’s here. Okay. Okay. Okay. *laughs* Okay. Here goes.

My sis-in-law laid down the stray hairs with a wax stick. Then, I put my hand on the doorknob to face gratification of my efforts from the only person that mattered or *crickets*. I reached the edge of the steps in my champagne colored heels and french manicured toes and there he was at the bottom of the stairs. He stood there in his tux with a corsage. This was the first time I had ever seen him in a tux and surely this was the first time he had ever seen me like this. My nervousness faded. I smiled. He was standing there tall in all his glory handsome, freshly shaven, and cut. I headed down the stairs to meet him in my Jennifer Lopez plunge halter dress, which made my dad clear his throat and look over at my mom. The seamstress spoofed. Really. She did. He reached out for my hand to help me to the landing.

While everyone was ohh and awing and taking pictures, he leaned over to whisper in my ear that I looked beautiful. My smile grew from ear to ear paired with a laugh. He helped me into the car, out of the car, and got my food and drinks the entire night. He asked repeatedly if I needed anything and got territorial when guys made comments. We danced and had a GREAT time. He treated me like a lady from the moment he took my hand at the stairs to helping me out of the car at the end of the night, at which point he again complimented how I looked.

Why this date was memorable Women like being reminded they are YOUR lady. I don’t think men should do this all the time. It would be taken for granted. But every once in a while, guys, remember that she is a lady and most of all she’s your lady. Compliment something you normally wouldn’t: her dress, perfume, hair, shoes, necklace, and/or makeup <— things only women note. You're saying you love the way she put together. Attention to detail. Do something you normally wouldn't. For example, clear your schedule for an entire day to do something she's always wanted to do. Knowing how crazy my life can get, it's the ultimate form of selflessness I know. Not only will she be smiling that evening, she'll wake up smiling. Take care of home *Dave Hollister ensues*

Leave a Reply

